Big Ag

A few days back I saw a great advertisement in the cinema – it was a beautiful animation about the demise of small scale farming and the rise of Big Ag (corporate farming).

I’ve been to see a variety of breeders and producers along the trip, and by and large I think the majority share the same passion that I have for well raised, happy animals, fed good diets to make great meat. America is seen as the home of fast food, and we generally equate that with junk food but we’d be wrong. I’ve eaten good quality, lovingly made food from street carts and diners. Which brings me neatly to Chipotle, the makers of the little animation. I hadn’t heard of them prior to this trip, so when I saw one of their eateries last night I popped in to get a bite. The picture just looks like a pile of lettuce, but I can assure you there was a mountain of good things hiding beneath it.Mexican cuisine hasn’t yet been popularised to the max in the UK yet – we only have a handful of Taco Bell’s and I tend to think of Thomasina Miers as being the queen of British Mexican Cuisine. Our supermarket offerings extends to dried sachets of spices which are rarely anything like the real think. Dinner at Chipotle was excellent, it’s basic… choose your meal (taco, burrito, burrito bowl etc), choose your meat (pork, beef or chicken), choose whether you want rice, beans, salsa, sour cream, cheese and guacamole and you’re done. It’s an easy quick process, the food is fresh, tasty and made from good ingredients. The brand doesn’t seem shy when it comes to self-promotion but that’s no bad thing when your main ingredients are humanely raised animals, which aren’t fed growth hormones or antibiotics.

One thought on “Big Ag

  1. I didn’t know that Chipotle were particular about the source of their ingredients, so thanks for highlighting it. Good to know!

Leave a Reply

